2019 New Zealander of the Year finalists announced

by Krizzel Canlas22 Jan 2019

Kiwibank has announced the three finalists for the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards.

Now in its 10th year, the awards celebrate people who use their passion for New Zealand to make our country a better place to live. They are open to all New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwis whose selflessness, creativity and vision make us proud to call New Zealand home.

The three remarkable Kiwis, who are worthy finalists for the title of Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year in 2019 are tackling some of the toughest social issues facing New Zealand – issues that touch us all, chief judge Cameron Bennett said.

The finalists are:

  • Dr Marewa Glover: tobacco harm reduction advocate (Auckland)
  • Lisa King: founder of Eat My Lunch (Auckland)
  • Mike King: mental health advocate (Auckland)

Other finalists for other categories include:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year

  • Kendall Flutey (Christchurch)
  • Sophie Pascoe (Christchurch)
  • Shay Wright (Auckland)

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year

  • Sir Mason Durie (Palmerston North)
  • Dr Bill (William) Glass (Wellington)
  • Dr Rosamund Vallings (Auckland)

Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year

  • Dr Mark Sager - Soul Machines (Auckland)
  • Dr Alister Scarfe & Steven Saunders – Robotics Plus (Whakamarama)
  • Ian Taylor – Animation Research Ltd (Dunedin)

Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year

  • Kaibosh Food Rescue (Wellington)
  • Kiwi Coast (Northland)
  • Pillars (national)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

  • Pera Barrett (Wellington)
  • Glen Green (Auckland)
  • Barbara Halliwell (Wellington)

The awards will be held at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in Auckland on February 13.

Most Read

NZ Adviser TV