Commerce announces appointments

by NZ Adviser30 Sep 2016
Commerce and Consumer Affairs Minister Paul Goldsmith yesterday announced the appointment of Ainsley McLaren to the Financial Markets Authority (FMA) Board and the reappointment of Sir Bruce Robertson and Simon Hassan to the Disciplinary Committee under the Financial Advisers Act.

New member McLaren has been appointed for a five-year term on the FMA Board and Goldsmith says she brings a strong managed funds and investment background to the table and over 25 years in financial services.  

“Her practical experience of financial services in the banking sector will add value to the FMA Board,” said Goldsmith. 

McLaren previously held senior investment positions at First State Investments (NZ) Ltd and ASB Group Investments Ltd, where she was accountable for the performance of ASB Bank's retail managed funds and immunising the long-dated liabilities of Sovereign Assurance. 

She is currently a board member of the Government Super Fund Authority and Hohepa Auckland Regional Board. 

“I am also pleased to announce the reappointment of Sir Bruce as Chair and Mr Hassan as a member of the Disciplinary Committee,” said Goldsmith.

“Both appointees have been reappointed for a further five year term each and will ensure a continued presence of judicial and industry experience on the Committee.” 

The Committee conducts disciplinary proceedings arising out of complaints against authorised financial advisers referred to it by the FMA.

Robertson has been a member of the Committee since its commencement in 2010, and has served as Chair since 2011 and was previously a Permanent Judge on the New Zealand Court of Appeal, retiring in 2010. 

Hassan has clocked up 25 years’ experience as a financial adviser and been a member of the Committee since 2010 and is active in the financial advisory profession. 

He is a Fellow and past President of the Institute of Financial Advisers and chaired its College of Financial Planners. 

Most Read

NZ Adviser TV