New board and CEO at Financial Services Council

by NZ Adviser21 Oct 2016
The Financial Services Council (FSC) has announced the members of its new board and new chief executive officer. 

Richard Klipin has been appointed as the new CEO, commencing mid-November. Klipin brings 26 years’ experience to the role, previously holding executive roles within Australian and New Zealand financial services in both commercial and non-profit sectors.

Most recently, in New Zealand, Klipin was chief distribution officer for Sovereign. Over the past 11 years he has served in a number of key industry roles leading transformation at a time of rapid regulatory change; as CEO of the Association of Financial Advisers, in Australia; and as CEO of Millennium 3. 

Klipin replaces Owen Gill, who ran the FSC on an acting basis since April 2016. During his time in this position Mr Gill reviewed memberships and finances, helping to establish a stable basis for the future success of the organisation. 

The new board which will serve for two years sees the addition of two new members who were elected at the annual general meeting on 4 October. The new members include Matthew Hanley, a tax expert, representing EY, and Charlie Trotter, Managing Director, representing FNZ, one of the biggest platformproviders in financial services in New Zealand.

“The FSC is renewing its role, in representing the personal insurance and wealth sector, to the Government and to consumers, in a constructive way,” said the Independent Chairman, Rob Flannagan.

“The demands of the proposed regulatory regime, digital products and digital distribution, and rising consumer expectations, require a strong organisation to represent financial services firms in New Zealand.

“Richard is an ideal CEO to lead the FSC and its members through this time of potential change, given his extensive experience in this area.”

Board members elected at the AGM, and the firms they represent, are:
Matthew Hanley (EY)
Charlie Trotter (FNZ)
Nadine Tereora (Fidelity Life)
Lance Walker (Cigna)
Cris Knell (Asteron / Suncorp)
Simon Hoole (AMP)
Chris Lamers (Sovereign)
AnaMarie Lockyer (ANZ)
Susan Basile (BNZ)
Suzanne Wolton (Westpac)
Rob Flannagan (Independent Chairman)

Most Read

NZ Adviser TV