Westpac boss to chair bankers’ association

by NZ Adviser05 Apr 2017
Westpac chief executive David McLean has been elected chair of the New Zealand Bankers’ Association for 2017/18, taking up the role on 1 April.

Since 1892, the NZBA has been advocating on behalf of the industry in support of a successful banking system to benefit  New Zealanders and the economy.

McLean says it’s a privilege to be elected chair and he is confident the Association will continue to promote outcomes that support the industry and New Zealanders.

“New Zealand’s economic growth and wellbeing depends on a stable, robust and secure banking system.”

Westpac takes over the chair bank role from ANZ’s David Hisco while Kiwibank chief executive Paul Brock was elected deputy chair.

New Zealand Bankers’ Association chief executive Karen Scott-Howman said, “I would like to thank David Hisco for his contribution as chair over the last year, and welcome David McLean to the role.”

Established in 1891, NZBA is the voice of the banking industry. 

The association currently has 16 members, all of which are banks registered under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 1989. The association’s governing body is its council, comprising the chief executive of each member bank. In addition, NZBA has eight affiliate memberships with other organisations involved with the banking industry.

Most Read

NZ Adviser TV